Ruth KM4LAO Winner Hiram Percy Maxim Memorial Award

ARRL Board of Directors name Ruth Willet KM4LAO as the recipient of the 2018 ARRL Hiram Percy Maxim Memorial Award.

A student at Kettering University, Willet was instrumental in re-establishing the school’s Amateur Radio club and has mentored new licensees, among other activities.

She earned the August 2017 QST Cover Plaque Award and has written articles for other Amateur Radio news outlets.

ARRL’s top youth honor, The Hiram Percy Maxim Memorial Award is given annually to an ARRL member under the age of 21, whose accomplishments and contributions to both the community of Amateur Radio and the local community are “of the most exemplary nature.” The award carries a cash award of $1,500 and a suitably engraved plaque.

ARRL Story -