2012 Barry Goldwater Amateur Radio Award

The Radio Club of America announced this week that William A. Tynan, W3XO is the recipient of its 2012 Barry Goldwater Amateur Radio Award.

The award recognizes Bill's lifelong service to the public through amateur radio. It will be presented at the club's annual awards banquet in New York on November 16th. ARRL CEO David Sumner, K1ZZ, like Bill a club Fellow, will be the keynote speaker.

Bill, one of AMSAT's charter members, is a past President and Chairman of the Board. For many years, he conducted QST's monthly column, "The World Above 50 MHz." He is also a past President of the Central States VHF Society. Bill played a key role in the origination of amateur radio from the Space Shuttle and the International Space Station.

The Radio Club of America, founded in 1909, is the world's oldest radio communications association.

Radio Club of America - http://www.radioclubofamerica.org