WIA Merit Awards

The WIA Merit Award program identifies and recognises outstanding achievement in the field of Amateur Radio that furthers the science of radio, and/or service to the WIA.

The Awards play an important role in promoting excellence with nominations made by WIA members and then decided by the WIA Board.

Nominations are now being called for the 2018 awards.

The WIA Merit Awards include:

  • GA Taylor Medal
  • WIA Honorary Life Membership
  • Chris Jones Award
  • Ron Wilkinson Achievement Award
  • WIA Technical Excellence Award
  • WIA Foundation Licence Award
  • Presidents Commendation

A full list of the origin of each award and the previous recipients is available on the WIA web site.

The list of the current award recipients and their achievements will be published in Amateur Radio magazine and on the WIA Sunday broadcast.

Nominations should be in the approved format utilising the form which is on the WIA web site - http://www.wia.org.au/members/wiaawards/about/

The specific award is not part of the nomination process. That decision is made by the WIA Board of Directors, and all WIA Merit Awards are not necessarily awarded each and every year.

If a nomination is successful, these are usually announced at the WIA Annual General Meeting, and where possible presented at that gathering of members.

Nominations close on 15th April 2018.

In addition, there are also awards issued by the Publications Committee and the WIA DX Awards Committee